• Inevitable
  • Posts
  • Reading Texts (or lack of) - Twitter (I mean X) - BARBIE GORL (gamers get it) - UPS Strike Called Off!!

Reading Texts (or lack of) - Twitter (I mean X) - BARBIE GORL (gamers get it) - UPS Strike Called Off!!

Read how I am a total dingus

If this email was fwd’d to you and you’d like to see more, subscribe here.

Hey hey, howdy! 🤠

It’s in my true nature that I would have a typo IN MY OWN EMAIL for my first newsletter send hahahah ooopsiee - I’m such a dingus sometimes. But you know what, we live and we learn. It’s scary to jump into something new and mistakes are inevitable. Perfection is rare and mistakes shouldn’t keep you from moving on or starting something new 😌

Anywhoodle, I asked in four different places in the last newsletter for replies to the email and if you did, you would have gotten a bounce-back email. I’d still LOVE to hear from you, so PLEASE reply to this email with any thoughts, feedback, etc 😊

A little about me — in 2015, I was diagnosed with ADHD and tried medicating but decided against it after a bit. I love my neurodivergent brain and the creativity it brings - I found that medicating hindered that. That being said, it makes other things in my life a bit more difficult. It makes some simple tasks seem very overwhelming.

This week, I made a commitment to be better about keeping up with my texts. Idk if anyone else feels this way but texting has become really hard for me. Once I pick up my phone to reply to a text, I get sucked in by all the stimulation of the convos, the notifications, and the apps. I am consistently feeling guilty about not being able to keep up. I decided to start with a clean slate and press “read all” to clear the literal 578 texts that I was behind on. I’m 4 days in and have responded to everyone and it feels pretty great 🙂 

I wasn’t aware of how to do this before so for those of you who want to do it, here are the steps:

  1. Top left of your messages “Edit”

  2. Select Messages

hi cutie jackie in the top right ;)

  1. Bottom left, Read All (I actually had to do this several times for it to read all the messages and then had to scroll down to the bottom of my messages and do it again 😂 )

hi jess 🙂 and hello health issues - maybe ill talk about that in another newsie

This past week, we’ve continued to see the effects of Barbie’s $150 million marketing budget - it’s been interesting to see how brands and communities celebrate Barbie for free on top of all the paid collabs. They’ve made it fun and created FOMO around the entire campaign. I got my hair done this week and my stylist, Emma, said there’s even been an influx of girls asking for “Barbie Blonde.” Some may think they too could create this same effect if they had a $150 million budget, but IMO, the strategy they executed made this campaign successful. Someone connect me with the Barbie team, plz.

Again, enough about me, let’s get into it. If you know someone who’d be interested in learning more about Digital Experience (DX), I’d LOVE it if you forwarded this to them.

What’s New in CX & DX?!

🖐️Helpdesk News🖐️ 

A popular helpdesk in the space was down this past week causing uproar in the customer experience space. I felt for these teams as some had to go back to the good ol’ gmail inboxes to see inquires — it sounds like some inquires got lost forever 😢 Our CX Discord was a nice place for people to vent and get help from others while they navigated through the outage. If you’re in CX, a founder or CX adjecent, you can join the discord here. There’s almost 900 of us now!

If anyone is exploring new helpdesks due to the outage OR in general, I’d highly recommend Gorgias - I’ve been using Gorgias for years and LOVE the efficiencies and automation it allows for my team and I to deliver an exceptional experience. If it helps, I’d love to share some of my Gorgias hacks in the future! Let a girl know.

Here’s a 7-day free trial of Gorgias, if you’d like to give them a go!

In other ticket news, I saw Simon tweet this and I 100% agree

No matter how far I get from “the desk” and answering tickets on a daily basis, I’ll always poke around in there. It’s a rollercoaster 🎢 of emotions: you’re getting feedback from your most loyal customers who have the best feedback and you’re getting the ugly, the inevitable issues you could never predict. It’s a good idea to have eyes in there - it brings you back to the consumer level. It shows you what your customer wants instead of what YOU want.

📱Social Media News - Threads & X📱

Some say, Threads just isn’t hittin’ the same as it was as day 1. Are you still using it personally? Is your brand crushing it on there? Have we stopped using it? What’s up with it? They say that usage has dropped by HALF!

I personally haven’t been using it as much but it is fun to see my Instagram friends on there. Personally, I still love Twitter….I mean X. CRAAAAZZZYYY that Elon just woke up and decided to change Twitter to X. Like whaaaat. I’ll be there with my DTC bros and gorls. I love it there.

📦️Logistics📦️ 

I was SO ready to give you guys a “UPS goes on strike” checklist. BUT I am relieved that UPS and Teamsters came to an agreement and we no longer have to worry. Shipping delays are a CX nightmare with a “no end in sight” type of feeling.

If you’re looking for Logistics and Operation news, I’d highly suggest following Cody from Chomps on Twitter. I am so proud of him for wanting to share his knowledge with the world. The operations team at Chomps are absolute KILLERS - moving SO MANY meat sticks every day. I’m grateful to work with such an amazing team.

Upcoming Events 📅

San Diego Event/Dinner - (Date TBD, hoping mid-late August)
Calling all San Diego locals in e-commerce 🗣️ Gorgias and I are hosting a get-together in August. If you wanna come, sign up here. If you’re not from SD but have ecom friends there, fwd this to them!

Commerce Roundtable - San Diego, September 18th & 19th
This event is going to be INSANE. I’d encourage you to check out the guests on the site and make a trip out to sunny California to hang with us all. We’re going to be doing a live Oopsie Podcast ft. Dylan Barbour where he’s going to spill his biggest mistake in business and what he learned from it.

You can grab a discounted brand ticket with code OOPSIE at checkout!

Latest Oopsie Podcast 🙊

This week’s Oopsie Podcast featured Rabah Rahil, Chief Evangelist at Triple Whale. Not gonna lie, it got a little spicy. There was a little debate and we talked about leadership and more. Twas much fun. Give it a listen!

Thanks for reading, please feel free to reply and say hi and give any and all feedback :)

xoxo,
Zoe